Photo Credit: Dave Mahussier

WINNIPEG, MB – Winnipeg Goldeyes’ catcher Deon Stafford Jr. has been voted as the starting catcher for the West Division in the American Association All-Star Game.

Stafford is hitting .248 with eight doubles, four home runs, 21 RBI, and a .446 slugging percentage in 30 games played.  The Harrisburg, Pennsylvania native has had just 10 stolen base attempts against in 19 games behind the plate (3-for-10, 30%), and has not been charged with a passed ball.

Stafford joined the Goldeyes late in 2021, and hit .309 with four home runs and 21 RBI in 27 games.  The 26-year-old was drafted by the Pittsburgh Pirates in the fifth round in 2017 out of St. Joseph’s University (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) where he set the programs’ single-season home run record with 18 as a sophomore in 2016.

This is Stafford’s third all-star honour of his career, having earned accolades in the Short Season-A New York-Penn League in 2017 and the Low-A South Atlantic League in 2018.

The 2022 American Association All-Star Game is Tuesday, July 12th at Impact Field, home of the Chicago Dogs.  The game will feature squads composed from the East and West Divisions.  Dogs’ manager Butch Hobson will manage the East, while Joe Calfapietra of the defending champion Kansas City Monarchs will lead the West.

Voting was determined by league executives, field managers, and media members.  The pitchers and reserves will be selected by Hobson and Calfapietra, and will be announced Monday, June 27th.

2022 American Association West Division All-Star Starters

C – Deon Stafford Jr., Winnipeg Goldeyes

1B – Manuel Boscan, Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks

2B – Darnell Sweeney, Kansas City Monarchs

3B – David Thompson, Kansas City Monarchs

SS – Osvaldo Martinez, Sioux Falls Canaries

OF – Justin Byrd, Lincoln Saltdogs

OF – Jan Hernandez, Kansas City Monarchs

OF – John Silviano, Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks

DH – Drew Ward, Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks


2022 American Association East Division All-Star Starters

C – Dylan Kelly, Milwaukee Milkmen

1B – Giovanni Brusa, Lake Country DockHounds

2B – Bryan Torres, Milwaukee Milkmen

3B – Dylan Busby, Kane County Cougars

SS – Mason Davis, Milwaukee Milkmen

OF – Jimmy Kerrigan, Kane County Cougars

OF – Zach Nehrir, Cleburne Railroaders

OF – Chad Sedio, Milwaukee Milkmen

DH – Keon Barnum, Milwaukee Milkmen

The Winnipeg Goldeyes play a double header against the Lincoln Saltdogs on Saturday.  Game one is scheduled to begin at 5:05 p.m.

The Winnipeg Goldeyes return home on Tuesday, June 28th when they host the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks at Shaw Park.

For information on Winnipeg Goldeyes’ 2022 season tickets, individual tickets, group outings, and 10-game mini packs, visit the Goldeyes’ official website at