WINNIPEG, MB – Winnipeg Goldeyes’ outfielder Willie Cabrera and outfielder/first baseman David Rohm have been named to the American Association’s 2016 Postseason All-Star Team.

The Postseason All-Star team is comprised of players from all 12 American Association clubs, and was determined by the league’s field managers and media representatives.  Both Cabrera and Rohm also represented the Goldeyes in the American Association All-Star Game on August 2nd at CHS Field in St. Paul, Minnesota.

Willie Cabrera Bio

David Rohm Bio

Cabrera was acquired from the Joplin Blasters on July 7th in exchange for a player to be named later.  Between Winnipeg and Joplin, Cabrera is tied for ninth in the American Association in batting average (.313), tied for 10th in home runs (16), and second in RBI (73).  The Los Angeles, California native has hit safely in 60 of 86 games while posting multiple hits in 28 contests.  On August 4th at Gary SouthShore, Cabrera played in the 1,000th game of his 11-year professional career.  The 30-year-old Cabrera has the second most RBI in the American Association (250) since first joining the league in 2012.

Rohm (pronounced ROME) ranks fourth in the league with a .336 batting average and tied for fifth with 70 RBI.  The Fresno, California native is currently riding a 12-game hitting streak, marking his third streak of double digit games this season.  Rohm opened the year on a 10-game streak, while stringing together a career-best 13-game run in June.  Rohm has seen significant time this year at both first base and right field.  Rohm captured All-Star Game MVP honours during the league’s mid-summer classic with two hits, two RBI, and a stolen base.  The 26-year-old has hit safely in 71 of 94 games, and leads the Goldeyes with 35 multi-hit performances.

2016 American Association Postseason All-Star Team
Catcher – Luis Alen, Lincoln Saltdogs
First Base – David Rohm, Winnipeg Goldeyes
Second Base – Brett Wiley, Kansas City T-Bones
Third Base – Josh Mazzola, Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks
Shortstop – Nate Samson, Sioux City Explorers
Outfield – Willie Cabrera, Winnipeg Goldeyes
Outfield – Alonzo Harris, St. Paul Saints
Outfield – Keury de la Cruz, Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks
Designated Hitter – Curt Smith, Lincoln Saltdogs

Player of the Year – Nate Samson (shortstop), Sioux City Explorers
Pitcher of the Year – Lindsey Caughel, Lincoln Saltdogs
Relief Pitcher of the Year – Ryan Rodebaugh, St. Paul Saints
Defensive Player of the Year – Jose Gonzalez (catcher), Gary SouthShore RailCats

The Goldeyes open a four-game series at Shaw Park tonight at 7:05 p.m. against the Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks.

Tickets for all Goldeyes home games are available at the Shaw Park box office or by calling 1-855-GOLDEYE or visiting All Goldeyes games are broadcast live on 93.7 CJNU and at